Duvvuri Subrahmanyam Ph.D.

Duvvuri profile picture 

I am an Assistant Professor of Aerospace Engineering at the Indian Institute of Science (IISc), where I lead the Turbulent Shear Flow Physics and Engineering Laboratory (TSFPEL). My research interests are broadly in the area of aero/fluid dynamics, with a focus on turbulent shear flows in both incompressible (subsonic) and compressible (supersonic, hypersonic) regimes. Both fundamental and applied aspects of these subjects are of interest to me.

During the Covid-19 crisis, TSFPEL played a lead role in an effort at IISc to develop novel low-cost high-functionality medical ventilator technology – see details here.

I tweet as mangaloreman.

Academic/Research Positions

  • Assistant Professor (September 2018 – present)
    Department of Aerospace Engineering, Indian Institute of Science

  • Postdoctoral Research Associate (September 2016 – August 2018)
    Department of Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering, Princeton University


Awards, Fellowships, Professional Honors

  • Associate (2023 to 2026) of the Indian Academy of Sciences.

  • Editorial Board Member and Associate Editor (2023 to present) of Sadhana – Academy Proceedings in Engineering Sciences.

  • Saroj Poddar Young Investigator Award (2021 to 2023) by Indian Institute of Science with support from Saroj Poddar Trust.

  • Donald Coles Prize (2016) for the PhD thesis in Aeronautics at Caltech that displays the best design of an experiment or experimental equipment.

  • Charles D. Babcock Memorial Award (2013) for significant contributions to the Aerospace department at Caltech in teaching and student assistance.

  • Resnick Graduate Research Fellowship (2012 to 2014) awarded by the Resnick Institute at Caltech.

  • Abdul Kalam Prize (2011) for exemplary academic performance in Aerospace Engineering Master's program at Caltech.

  • Student Travel Grant (2009) awarded by Physics of Fluids research journal.

  • Leadership Enrichment and Regional Networking – LEaRN (2009) scholarship awarded by Temasek Foundation (Singapore).

  • Summer Research Fellowship (2008 & 2009) awarded by Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research (JNCASR), Bengaluru.